Norm Kiefer’s Book

Quickly searching through the Web this evening  and came across something which I sought long and hard in 2006.    The Green Nosed Flying 8-Balls: A History of the 506th Bomb Squadron  – originally written by Norm Kiefer, a 506th veteran. The book was as rare as hen’s teeth.   Although I never met him and I’d have to look through my old Yahoo mail account, I don’t think we ever communicated,  I believe he passed away while I was researching the first time around.  His book was a vital tool to get the individual mission stories of the 506th into some kind of order for the period of Joplin Jalopy’s operational career.   Now I note that the Kiefer Family Trust have put together a very professional looking website and made the book available online, dedicated to Norman Carl Kiefer and all the veterans, past and present.     Link to the book/site  here and  in the blogroll opposite.

Leave a Reply

